Handmade Christmas ’09

December 15, 2009 § 5 Comments

Yeah, yeah!  I’m speeding through my list… it’s possible I am avoiding my mom’s gift though.  I mean seriously, who decides to make luggage?  Me.  All of the supplies are sitting in my sewing studio staring at me.  All 5 yards of fabric, 5 yards of cording & bias tape, 7 yards of various interfacings, size 20 (yes, 20!) needles, and upholstery weight thread.  Maybe I should get started soon, right?

In the avoidance meantime, I’ve finished quite a few things.

The boys Christmas hats.

A black apple doll.

A dropstitch scarf.

Jammie pants and slippers for Joey

Slippers for Ethan

Still waiting to be done are washcloths for the boys teachers (they are getting hand dyed ones with a small bundle of Indigo Wild soaps), caramel to be cooked and wrapped, a towel/napkin set for a family friend, and the outdoor fort :).  It’s their big gift this year.  We told them we were building a gazebo, they are buying it for now :).  We did really well on our budget too, Craigslist saved us a few times!

So, the boys Christmas is 90% handmade (the exceptions being books… sadly, I’m not a writer, and their gifts from the big jolly guy), and I want to say that the rest of the giving we do is about 60%ish handmade.  Not to shabby!

§ 5 Responses to Handmade Christmas ’09

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Handmade Christmas ’09 at life with the boys..

meta

