And the award for worst mom in the world goes to?

August 24, 2009 § 2 Comments

Me. I feel like I need to be doing something different to keep them healthy. Maybe it’s pitfall of having 3 kids, they share things… toys, love, GERMS. Why do I feel so guilty about it?

They eat well, get lots of exercise, have good hygiene (or as good as a mom could ask for from a 4 and 7 year old), yet it seems that every 6 weeks or so someone comes down with something. I’m not just talking about a runny nose here.

So, right now I am waiting for Joey and Ethan to get the chicken pox. Yup. Chicken. Pox. I have no idea where Chris got it, and he has been vax’d for it. The other 2 haven’t, so while I wanted this to come naturally, I’m still caught unprepared.

Wait, did I mention that Ethan had rubella or roseola on vacation (fever then body rash, so i’m not sure which)? That was extra fun. Prior to that we had the summer stomach flu, Ethan had a respiratory virus that still pops up whenever a cold arrives, and winter is on the way with more fun in store for us

Deep breath.  Perhaps I need to look into daily immune boosting supplements?

§ 2 Responses to And the award for worst mom in the world goes to?

  • chelle says:

    hmm I talked to my doctor about Chicken Pox, because friends of ours neighbors had it and there was a fear that it was spreading. He said that it is impossible for an immunized child to get it. And if it were to happen it should be reported asap. Yet I have heard people say it a few times.

    I hope the kids get through the sickness quickly!! Your kids catching stuff is not a reflection of your parenting! If they were in daycare from birth they would have caught a lot more!

  • hjdong says:

    See, that’s the opposite of what my ped. said (that vaccinated kids could get it), but they do need a booster. James just got his booster last year.Or, 2 years ago? So hard to remember. And I mentioned, I think she’s less pro-immunization than I am (weird).

    Here’s a cdc link http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vpd-vac/varicella/ (a cut and paste “about 8 to 9 of every 10 people who are vaccinated are completely protected from chickenpox” ).

    Weird that Chris got it first?

    Anyway, kids get sick. James’ hives came back today because I was trying to wean him off his meds. We all have our bad mom badges we can wear.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading And the award for worst mom in the world goes to? at life with the boys..

meta

