My resolve this spring…

March 22, 2009 § 2 Comments

Is to not put my camera on auto settings. I started yesterday, and am enjoying the results. I need work, but I figure that I will learn best with trial and error. I am hoping to work my way to an upgraded camera (perhaps a used D80?)

The beginnings-

dsc_0181_2
ISO-200, f2.0, shutter 1/250 (slower shutter? tripod? higher ISO?) I have to say, I love the sharpness to the curve of his cheek.

dsc_0235
Some photoshop color alteration, ISO 200, f2.2, shutter 1/100

dsc_0202
Darkening in photoshop, ISO 200, f4.5, shutter 1/200. I should have had a much faster shutter speed.

dsc_0216
ISO 200, f2.2, shutter 1/1250

I’m hoping to look back and see a difference, point out flaws, and be able to shoot manually wherever I am! Wish me luck.

§ 2 Responses to My resolve this spring…

  • chelle says:

    Good luck!
    I always love your photos! I have been attempting to get off auto a little, but happy to take a ton of pictures šŸ™‚

    Your boys!!! So cute!

  • hjdong says:

    Those are great shots! Are you doing entirely manual or the cheater manual settings? That’s what I mostly use. The ones where the camera sets either the ISO or the f stop and then you can fiddle. I rarely go completely manual and when I do, I sally silently curse when I pick up the camera again and get crappy pictures :-).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My resolve this spring… at life with the boys..

meta

